Newt In A Tea Cup











{October 9, 2007}   It’s not the PMS except when it is.

PMS is one of those bete noir that I hate yet reluctantly acknowledge. I hate them because they are misused as a catch all to dismiss legitimate concerns. It’s also a big joke that quite frankly pisses off every women who has actually had any serious pain or symptoms. Our modern female hysteria, if you will. Oh, and the fact I’m feeling moody or in pain doesn’t change how much of an asshole someone is.

Except that regularly, like clockwork, I end up spending entire days crying, disappearing to cry in bathrooms when I go out (I once spent over a third of a lunch in a cubicle…), and drastically cutting back on my active social life. I start something, stare at it blankly then walk away in despair. It’s not depression because it comes and goes.

I went to the nurse today and we chatted about it. She thinks it’s most likely PMS and suggested some vitamin pills, that I keep a diary of symptoms and watch how my eating habits change.

So where does it leave me? I hate the fact of the label… but what else could it be?

Kirsten says:

I agree that using PMS as a way of dismissing women’s concerns and real annoyances is not OK.
But PMS is a very real condition for many women. If it’s disrupting your life you need to get it sorted, whatever it is. Don’t let internalised stigma get in the way of your health- I did that with depression and it made things a heck of a lot worse than they could have been.
Take care of yourself.



Rachel says:

It leaves you in a better position to get yourself mended than you were. To be honest, I don’t think it’s worth worrying about anything else.



tcupnewt says:

Yeah, you’re both right. I’m stubborn anyway in that I hate taking any medication unless I’m on death’s door and vigorously holding my finger down on the bell. It’s hard sometimes seeing PMS as anything serious.



i reckon you should make sure the time you spend in the toilet is done on the employer’s time – not your own. i know it won’t help dealing with PMS but you will be able to eat more lunch. see! i’m back and i care. missed you.
sw



Leave a Reply

et cetera
