Newt In A Tea Cup











{June 27, 2007}   Back To Normal Soon

I just had my last exam this afternoon, and whilst I’m pretty sure I’ve done badly (a terrifying prospectus as my university entrance goal is one A in english and two Bs), I’m glad it’s over; how could I not be? It was a rather odd question since the source we were analysing was written by a Lady in 1710 but the (lack of) grammatical structure and especially the lexis and orthography placed it straight in the 1400s during the beginning of the GVS and whilst standardisation was slow, it wasn’t that damn slow… It’s like she got an education from 3 centuries before her time… So I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it, and I think I missed the point on the “globalisation of english” question. But enough about that, at least until I get the results.

My biggest fear is not fulfilling my potential and I was talking to my favourite Big Issue SellerTM yesterday… He’s actually very clever, did English at university but didn’t like Shakespeare’s purple prose, preferred modern classics (like me) and is good at design. Somewhere along the line something went wrong (I haven’t asked what) and he became homeless. It sounds crazy but I can see myself in him; I’m going to be taking a risk and if it doesn’t work, it really won’t work.

That said I’ll be able to post normally again. I want to change a few things; I get the feeling that my writing reflects that I’m still learning so much. I think that there are so many real-life things affecting women, that you can read in the papers all the time and I think I need to draw more attention to that, instead of so much abstract thinking.

It’s odd but I’m so anxious to do activism in the non-internet world but I don’t know where to start or what to do or if there is anything I can do. Right now I’m not sure that’s the position I’m in (an yes, that is a sign of my privilege) but that is a long-term goal position I want to grow into.

So that’s the general update over.

Mwezzi says:

When are you going into Uni? I was turned down by all four universities I applied to because it’s so intensely competitive up here, that all prospective medics have 5 As at Higher level, three Advanced Highers (at least) in the works and have hospital/caring experience. I was gutted, until I realised that I could do things in my gap year – and apart from travelling and hopefully getting some medical/pharmacy experience, I have also realised that, if possible, now would be a great time to get out there and act! So who knows, if I get the chance in my gap year, I’ll be able to say that I have done a bit more for women than just blog and complain as yet another privileged middle-class white girl. And there’ll probably be a fair few good chances to join activist groups in university – check out what there is, and if nothing… well, try forming one.



tcupnewt says:

I’ve got my Gap Year first, so I’m going on deffered entry to study English- it’s very competitive (they didn’t let me do the course I wanted, professional writing, so it’s the uni I want but the wrong course ): ) but there’s no way the same pressure as on my science friends. One of my mates just finished her 40 weeks working at the hospital and she’s got to aim for a lot of really high marks. My sympathies for you!

That would be so cool for you, to get involved during your gap year. It could be so life-changing. I really feel the whole privileged middle-class white girl complaining schtick too… and my family isn’t even that well off! Which is why I have to get my first full-time job before I can travel. But there’s definitely an orphanage in Tanzania that I’ll be checking out. And when the time comes, you and me both, we’ll be right there changing the world. 🙂



Michelle says:

Hey, I don’t know if you aware but there are a series of demos taking place this summer in London to campaign for better treatment of rape victims/a higher conviction rate etc. Feel free to come along! More info here: http://femprotest.wordpress.com/. It can be life-altering going on your first demo!
xx



Amy says:

Good luck with your exam results! 🙂

“That said I’ll be able to post normally again. I want to change a few things; I get the feeling that my writing reflects that I’m still learning so much. I think that there are so many real-life things affecting women, that you can read in the papers all the time and I think I need to draw more attention to that, instead of so much abstract thinking.

It’s odd but I’m so anxious to do activism in the non-internet world but I don’t know where to start or what to do or if there is anything I can do. Right now I’m not sure that’s the position I’m in (an yes, that is a sign of my privilege) but that is a long-term goal position I want to grow into.”

I know exactly what you mean. I’m itching to do activism in the non-internet world.
I see Michelle has already linked you to the thingy I would’ve linked you to. I should hopefully go to the next one, fingers crossed.



i’m a bit late here (not been blogging or commenting for a while), but naturally hope the results were good (they’re out now aren’t they?). just a word from the old… i read english (didn’t want to, i wanted to do drama because i knew the only thing i wanted to do was act) and really loved the freedom it gave you to think about all kinds of things that weren’t directly ‘literary’; i was also taught by lisa jardine, heather glen, john barrell, stephen heath, raymond williams, kiernan ryan, tony spearing to name but a few. it was a genuine privilege to come into contact with people like that. yadda yadda… what i’m saying is that english can be a very flexible way to study the things you want – politics, society, history – just use it as a way into each of them; and if you don’t like shakespeare (shudder at the very thought that anyone could not be excited about him, but each to their own!)just do someone else. also loads of free time!
good luck and enjoy.



tcupnewt says:

There out on thursday… Hopefully you’re right and english should be able to open a lot of doors. I remember that’s exactly what I love about it- the flexibility of the topics covered. You sound like you had a great time studying. 🙂

And yeah, I appreciate Shakespeare’s genius I’m just more of an Austen gal with liberal sprinklings of Nabakov.



hey – you like what you like – that’s why it’s good! hope results are what you want.
(not wild on austen and really don’t get nabokov, but there ya go)
i had a great time studying because i wasn’t studying english so much as thinking about thinking.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
