Newt In A Tea Cup











{March 8, 2007}   International Women’s Day

Don’t know about you but that seems a bit little to me. To be frank I’d be happy for a whole millennia to focus on women. Might offset the way we’ve been judged throughout the last couple of millennia. Of course I have been accused of narcissism before.

Does my sassiness upset you?

So let’s bust out the narcissism. I will freely admit to being selfish in many ways and I don’t believe that a necessarily bad thing. After all being selfish is recognising the self, the inner needs and drive. To be selfish you have to first recognise that you are worth something and that you have individual dreams and ambitions that are valid.

Does my haughtiness offend you?

But a bit of narcissism has almost become a self-defence, survival tactic and I would recommend it to all young girls with body image issues.

You may shoot me with your words,
You may cut me with your eyes,
You may kill me with your hatefulness

There is so much to bring us down, constantly thrown violently in our faces. Shopping for clothes can be emotionally draining, leaving an urge to cry and there are days when you feel like all of a sudden your body is too big for you to fit in it, awkward, fat, ugly.

Out of the huts of history’s shame
I rise

Let the narcissism in, quick. As a class women have been beaten, abused, raped, killed, made to feel inadequate, starved, airbrushed, forced into contraptions that hurt and maim in the name of beauty, trafficked, sold, objectified, dismissed, abandoned and ignored.

Up from a past that’s rooted in pain
I rise

BUT that’s not the end of the story. And that knowledge is why the narcissism is deserved, even merited.

I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,
Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.

We have not been destroyed. We are still here and despite all that we are still thriving strong. We have given the world a pantheon of strong guardian mothers though the world may not know it yet.

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise

I have a lot of hope in young women and I believe that the coming generations can and will change the world. We are more powerful in ourselves than you can imagine; because our mothers and grandmothers have fought for us; because we are still fighting, struggling but our momentum means we are no more on our knees, that we shall and must win; because we are standing proud and we hold our hands out to our sisters beside us and around the world and we say, without apology in our eyes and minds, that we hold the key to the world that men have been unable to create alone.

Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise

It is through women that we shall resolve the issue of poverty, of AIDS, of violence, of sickness and it is through women that we shall learn to love. You cannot judge us now; as a world class we are still in the process of becoming. But the journey, though painful, is opening a new world, a new tree of life that will bloom with the accomplished works and ambitions and desires of complete people, complete souls.

Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise

Still I rise is by Maya Angelou

Newt – that was beautiful!

I like this…
“So let’s bust out the narcissism. I will freely admit to being selfish in many ways and I don’t believe that a necessarily bad thing. After all being selfish is recognising the self, the inner needs and drive. To be selfish you have to first recognise that you are worth something and that you have individual dreams and ambitions that are valid”

Its strange how ‘self-centred’ has became self(ish) where for me it means centred within the self – grounded! Hardly a negative way of being.



tcupnewt says:

It’s hard to describe self-awareness or conciousness without all those negative connotations. It’s something extremely positive, the fault lies with what Plato describes as the lack or excess of each discipline. However there is a drive to deny all self-capabilities and accomplishments or worth. Those tend to apply to young women (How many times have you complemented a woman for her to say “Oh no, My …. is terrible! I love how you’ve got…. I can never seem to get it right”). For men it tends to do with emotional awareness. As people we need to understand our selves first independently, then in relation to the role we are given (and whether that role is appropriate), in conjunction with people we know and finally in relation to the wider world if we are to be squared with all.

(sorry for rambling on a tangent like that! I didn’t realise what I was doing…)



(sorry for rambling on a tangent like that! I didn’t realise what I was doing…)

There – now you have just done it 😉 and you were not rambling…



tcupnewt says:

o___0 Oh, the irony! 😀



Liz says:

Wow, fantastic post. I have to agree – women have been so concerned about others for so long that what’s wrong with being ‘selfish’ (I actually like this word, its a bit funny – self-ish)?

What’s wrong with doing what makes you happy, with pursuing your goals and making the most of our short time on earth? I get that too – women saying ‘oh no, my whatever is awful’ when you compliment them.

I’ve even been guilty of doing it myself – I don’t know where it comes from, perhaps that feeling that your achievements are small compared to others. Like you say, men rarely apologise for achieving something but women always seem to feel the need to deflect attention away from what they’ve achieved.

Why do we even ‘compare’ our achievements when we are actually, deep down, quite proud of them and think we will be thought of as ‘big headed’ if we admit we are proud of ourselves? I think it’s time for women to be proud of themselves.



Liz says:

Also, saying sorry if we think we are ‘going on’ about something, hehe ;)(my friends/family tell me to stop saying sorry when I say sorry for ranting or being passionate about something! :-S)



Amy says:

I’m just skimming through ‘cos I should basically be revising…I’ll go back to this post later I’m sure. I recognise that poem from my GCSE English Language, I loved it! 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
